My Lesson in Childhood by Vladimir Vasiliev

Publié le par Poussière d'étoile

 
 
Systema Headquarters
 
 
 
As I watched my daughter Natasha practicing the drills in the new film Train & Play,
I remembered a lesson from my childhood. Natasha had a distance estimation exercise; she had to predict the number of steps from an obstacle, then close her eyes and walk towards it to see if she was correct. There was also a task I like of remembering displayed objects after having just one glance.
 
When I was in grade 6, about 12 years of age, I had a great math teacher in my boarding school. He used to be a military reconnaissance officer during World War II. His classes and approach to teaching math and life skills were very unique and to the point.
 
One day, my two friends and I skipped a math class and stayed in our dorm playing cards. There were 6 beds in our room, and mine was the furthest from the door. As we were enjoying the game, we heard footsteps approaching in the hallway. My friends immediately hid themselves in the closet but there was no extra room for me, so I dived under my bed. The covers of the bed did not quite reach the floor. Of course, our math teacher came in and instantly opened the closet to reveal the two rascals, then I saw his big shoes stop at my bed side and I heard his voice, “Vasiliev, crawl out.”
 
We were all taken back to class with shame. Later that night, my teacher shared a touch of his professional knowledge with me. He told me that I should always know my distance and my physical ability. “Where was your estimation and quick thinking?” he said. He explained that I should have known how many steps there were from the door to my bed, and I should have held myself up hanging onto the metal bars under the bed as he was walking up. I responded saying, “You would find me anyways,” to which he replied, “I would, but someone else would not…”
 
I am glad I could pass on some of this and other experiences from my life to what we teach in Systema.
 
 
 
 
Valerie and Natasha Vasiliev
 
“Kids learn better when game is an important part of the program and when a family member joins the task.”
 
Serious safety, survival and health elements can and should be presented as a fun and interactive activities for the family.
This film contains a set of fun drills for children and youth to develop awareness, improve posture, enhance health and self-defense skills.
 
Watch a Systema mother and daughter team practicing:
  • Exercises for postural muscles
  • Visceral and bodyweight massage
  • Memory and estimation drills
  • Awareness and peripheral vision drills
  • Breath holds
 
Items that can be used for the drills are simple and available in your home – such as a book, a chair, a pillow and light weights.
 
 
 
 
 
INSTRUCTOR ONLINE WORKSHOP
 
For all Systema instructors, instructors-in-training, and those who wish to get more profound view on training and teaching Systema.
This session will include:
  • Discussion and practice of Systema fundamentals
  • Q&A – all participants are welcome to send their questions in advance
 
In this class, Vladimir will emphasize WARM UPS. In Systema, a warm up is not just to prepare the muscles for training, it is part of developing mastery. The students may think that in the “warm up drills” they are preparing for the main part of the class, but in fact, they are already seriously training and enhancing their skills.
 
Register now
 
 
Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :
Commenter cet article